I do research using hyperdimensional computing/vector symbolic architectures/vector symbolic algebras, and I have found the following papers put to gether make a pretty good crash course in these techniques. I've had a couple of people ask me for these references, so here they are, in the reading order I'd recommend:

  1. Hyperdimensional Computing: An Introduction to Computing in Distributed Representation with High-Dimensional Random vectors
  2. Simulating and Predicting Dynamical Systems with Spatial Semantic Pointers
  3. A Survey on Hyperdimensional Computing aka Vector Symbolic Architectures, Part I: Models and Data Transformations
  4. A Survey on Hyperdimensional Computing aka Vector Symbolic Architectures, Part II: Applications, Cognitive Models, and Challenges
  5. Computing on Functions using Randomized Vector Representations
  6. A Comparison of Vector Symbolic Architectures
  7. A Theoretical Perspective on Hyperdimensional Computing
  8. How to Build a Brain

Useful websites I have found:

  1. https://www.hd-computing.com/
  2. VSA Online

Useful software packages:

  1. Nengo SPA
  2. The sspspace library (I co-wrote this)